Eat/See/Listen/Love: 07/11/12

7 Nov

EAT: I did it guys. I went to Meatliquor. It’s grimy, dark and yummy. I went nursing a hangover and left feeling awesome.

We started with cocktails; just a warning, they’re expensive and you don’t get a huge amount. But they taste great and such beautiful cocktails work really well in such a grimy environment. Just to give you an idea of the place: you walk into a room, lights dimmed, 60s diner vibe – but the kind of diner you shouldn’t be in alone late at night. The tables are jammed tight together and the music is loud. It’s ALWAYS busy after 6pm, so make sure you get there easy to avoid hanging around at the bar (you’ll get drunk and it’ll cost you)!

I went for the chicken burger and dear GOD it was good. The chicken is SO tender and the relish and salad that comes with it tastes incredible. Crispy, fresh and so filling. One of my friends had the beef burger (went down VERY well and he’s a big foodie). My other friend had the halloumi and mushroom sandwich; don’t be fooled, it packs a punch and you get a lot for your money. Halloumi was really well done too, perfectly golden brown.

We shared ‘slaw (it is AMAZING, GET IT) and fries (these were average). The onion rings were huge and more batter than onion, but still great. It’s a real hands-on experience (you’re provided with very limited cutlery) and the fact you’re all eating from the same tray makes it liked a shared shame – in a good way, of course.

Sides will set you back around £3 and a burger is around £8. Cocktails start at £7. Worth every penny for the smell of grease and meat that clings to you for the rest of the night.

SEE: The year is coming to a close and, although not quite time for ‘end of year recap’ posts, I’m already thinking about next year.

I am desperate to get back to Glastonbury. I didn’t manage to get tickets for 2013 yet, but DAMMIT, I will. I’ve been to numerous festivals and honestly, none can compare. The sheer number of acts and events on offer is overwhelming and the atmosphere is great. Even when tipping it down, covered in mud and with aching feet I’d still rather be there than almost anywhere else at the end of June.

Music wise there’s something for everyone, but it’s the random places you stumble across that really make it. First year I went I was going to go to the toilet in a bush (naturally). What I found was a comedy den, hidden in the trees at the very edge of the festival. Run by some Irish guys, there were around 100 people packed into a tiny space – drinking and laughing until the early hours. The next day, it was gone. Some weird and wonderful stuff happens at Glastonbury.  Just take a look at ‘Arcadia’ in the photo above – my friend and I stumbled drunk into this place and discovered a shack made to seems like a mortuary, serving cocktails in tins. I need to be a part of it for the third year running.

LISTEN: I went to go and see How to Dress Well at XOYO a couple of nights ago. I’ll post properly about it by the end of the week. Promise.

LOVE: I went on a date last week. It was the first ‘proper’ date I’d been on since I split up with my ex, and it went well. Went to a nice bar in Soho, chatted for about 2 hours and then I made my excuses as I realised he wasn’t quiiiite right for me. I like a guy with life experience and ambitions – I told him about my travels, what I want to do, where I want to go, about moving to London… turns out he still lives at home, has only left the country once or twice and doesn’t really have a direction in life. Awesome taste in music potentially could have made up for it, but wasn’t quite ‘out there’ enough for me. He looked EXACTLY like Tinie Tempah though. Need to make a mental note to go for substance over style next time…

Leave a Reply

