2013 > 2012

1 Jan

Happy New Year one and all! I’m sure you all know what’s coming… my resolutions list. This year I’m desperate to travel again and I want to continue to discover more awesome stuff in and around London. Read on below (but make sure you have water and a fry-up to hand if you’re feeling worse for wear!) to find out how I’m changing my life in 2013.

1. Travel

Well, duh. I’ve decided Asia has to be my next stop. At the moment it’s a toss up between the Golden Triangle (Delhi, Jaipur and Agra in India) or exploring Vietnam, Thailand and Malaysia. I’m leaning towards India simply because it’s cheaper and more realistic to do in the space of about 10 days. I hate having restrictions on my time when it comes to traveling, I need about 20 days extra holiday a year!

I already have a trip to Philadelphia and New York scheduled in for the end of January – my mum has found her biological father and we’re going to visit for a bit! True, I’ve been to New York but last time I went I did the very touristy things. This time around I’m going to seek out the quirky cafes and see some bands – if you have any suggestions (for Philadelphia too!) then let me know.

2. See more live music

I only went to about half a dozen gigs in 2012, which quite frankly isn’t enough. This year I already have Wild Nothing, Glasto (if I get a ticket…….)and  Bruce Springsteen lined up, so I’m off to a good start! I’d love to see The Weeknd but since signing to a major it’s become nearly impossible to get hold of a ticket, let alone at a decent price. Hate it when that happens. Ho hum. But yes – expect lots of gig reviews and new music on the blog throughout 2013.

3. Say yes more

No, not in a slutty way (don’t pretend that wasn’t what you were thinking). I want to take a few more risks and open my life up a bit to new things. There have been so many times I’ve passed up a trip or a night out when I could have had an amazing time. I’m feeling really ‘meah’ about my age (24 is such a nothing age, right?) so I figure the way for me to make 2013 really worthwhile is to have as many new experiences as I can. Sounds great in theory, I’ll let you know how it goes…

4. Give a little help to my friends

This was my resolution last year and in part I achieved what I wanted – I just wanted to make a really positive impact on the lives of my friends. If they want something and it’s within my power to help them out then I’ll do so in a second. Last year I helped one of my best friends get through a really rough patch in his relationship and managed to repair the damage that had been done – he’s now more in love and happier than ever. My other friend was stuck in a job she hated and a city she was sick of, so I bullied her into applying to work where I do and now she’s livin’ it up in London and (I hope) feeling way more positive than she was this time last year.

So, yes. If you’re my friend I’ll be doing what I can to help. No matter what it is, just ask and I’ll do everything I can to make things better!

5. Gym, eat better, yadda yadda yadda.

How about you? What are your New Year’s resolutions?

Leave a Reply

