My playlist of JOY.

5 Jan

It’s been one week and I’m doing well with my resolutions. I’ve been eating well, been to the gym, have done a lot of travel research and already booked tickets to two gigs. However, I have decided to add one final resolution to the list. Be happier.

Yes, it’s quite vague. For the most part it’s my friends, great experiences and music that makes me happy. Great experiences are on the way, I have no doubt about that. But it seems that combining the other two – good friends and music – which will really help me get happier.

keep-calm-and-stop-bitching-11

1. I need to stop bitching. I don’t really bitch a HUGE amount outside of work. However, work stresses me out. It makes me a nasty person. Stress does that to us all, I know it does, but it still makes me feel horrible about myself. If I get unreasonable requests, or if someone is doing their job badly and it’s impacting me, I switch to bitch mode. So – I’ve decided to just stop. I’m going to focus on the good people in my life and make the most of them. I’m going to make my conversations more positive than negative. Also, NO ONE likes to hear you moan about work.

2. Music makes me happy and it is my tool to leave bitch mode and just be a nicer and happier person.

EASY. See? No? Ok, let me explain.

When someone annoys me, when things seem tough and a bit much, I will breathe and then put on my Happy playlist. My Happy playlist is something I have just created, filled with joyous music that brings out the best in me. It makes me smile. It makes me dance.  If one of these songs comes on I immediately find my spirit is lifted and the world is SO much better. Rather than bitching, I’ll sing (gutted).

calvin-hobbes-dancing

For example, I had an irritating e-mail this week. So, I breathed and put on Shuffle by Bombay Bicycle Club. This song makes me want to BURST with joy. In my head I imagine dancing to it with some vaguely attractive man who loves the song at least as much as I do – we do an energetic and glorious jive. Apparently I ended up getting SO happy when I put this on I was actually dancing at my desk (much to the amusement of my colleagues). But WHATEVER. It made me feel better.

For your listening pleasure, here is my Happy playlist. Most are very up beat, joyous or just damn beautiful. They make the world better. They make me happier. If you’re stressed or sad, come back to this post and turn up the volume.

Sporto Kantes – Lee
So upbeat. Bit weird, but I like that. Reminds me of Uni. Good times.

Bombay Bicycle Club – Shuffle
YOU MUST DANCE TO THIS OTHERWISE YOU ARE A ROBOT

Florence + The Machine – You’ve Got the Love
Obvious feel good factor, but then sometimes isn’t that the best kind?

Radiohead – Let Down
THAT bit at the start of the fourth minute. Heartbreakingly beautiful. Gives me goosebumps EVERY time. When I find a guy who can make me feel like that I’ll marry him. Haha.

Weezer – Island in the Sun    
Dreamy guitar happiness. That’s my official review. Who needs Pitchfork, right?

R.E.M – Shiny Happy People
Bit of an obvious one again. The video is bloody wonderful.

Bloc Party – So Here We Are
Cycling through the park on a summer’s day to this song is the best.

Vampire Weekend – Giving up the Gun & A-Punk
Both such high energy songs – great for a dance.

Macklemore – Thrift Shop
The beat is amazing and he is beautiful AND hilarious. Great combo.

Elbow – One Day Like This
Don’t really need to explain why this makes me happy really, far too obvious.

The Sophia Lorenians – Locomotion
Reminds me of doing absolutely nothing with my Uni friends and loving it.

The Smiths – This Charming Man
Every time this comes on, on a night out, I go MENTAL. Mainly because it’s the only Smiths song a club would dare play. Hah!

Yeasayer – Mondegreen & Red Cave
Mondegreen is dance-central. Red Cave is beautiful – I want the song played at my funeral.
“I’m so blessed to have spent the time, with my family, and the friends I love. In my short life I have met, so many people I deeply care for”.

U2 – Elevation & The Sweetest Thing
Yes, I included U2 on here. A MOLE. Digging in a HOLE. Digging up my SOUL. And The Sweetest thing is just lovely.

Noah and The Whale – 5 Years Time
Again, this is an obvious one. Soz.

The Beatles – Here Comes the Sun
I want to record a film of me frolicking in the sunshine, play this song over it and put it on at my funeral. It’ll make people weep whilst, hopefully, making them smile.

Do you have any songs which make you feel good no matter what? If so, let me know – I’m looking for new additions to the list!

Leave a Reply

