Eat/See/Listen/Love: 05/05/13

5 May

I’m currently sat at home, watching Some Kind of Wonderful and have my Mum’s new cat nuzzling my feet. Not the opening line you expected perhaps, but there we go.

sunshine-yay

London is great at this time of year. The weather is still cool enough for me to not need to be wearing flip-flops and summer dresses, but warm enough to leave the coat behind. When the sun comes out in London music starts playing in places that were once quiet and cold, festivals spring up, pop-ups a plenty – and al-fresco dining comes into play.

I’m really looking forward to the Regent’s Park open air theater shows (To Kill A Mockingbird looks particularly good), open air cinema pop ups (the Queen of Hoxton rooftop cinema is a great venue) and Frank’s Cafe (awesome cafe on the roof of a multi-story car park in Peckham).

True, all the stuff I’m about to talk about is located indoors – but I promise that I’ll take some sunnier photographs soon. I won’t be in them though – my ginger skin and I will be hiding in the shade.

EAT:  I know I usually bang on about Soho a lot, however today I’m turning my attention to Hoxton. I once went on a rather mediocre date to Hoxton Square – however, I’ve been there since with friends and it’s a really cool place to hang out. The Red Dog Saloon is right on the square and they’re known for their burgers. Big, towering burgers.

red-dog-saloon-devestator-

I didn’t even try to attempt the monster above. However, the shoestring fries I did give a go and they were awesome. The coleslaw was also great – not up there with Meatliquor’s, but great nonetheless. The pulled pork sandwich is also a good one to try – has a kick to it. The Red Dog is known for its BBQ chicken – table next to mine had a pile of the stuff and it smelled amazing, so give it a try and if you do, let me know if it’s worth a re-visit. As it is, I’ll be heading back – especially when I can dine outside. Get me, eh.

SEE: Not to brag, but I got tickets for The Book of Mormon bloody ages ago. What can I say, I know a good thing when I see it. It was pretty much everything you’d expect: offensive and hilarious to say the least.

logo

The basic premise of the story is that two Mormon missionaries are sent to Uganda to convert the local people to Mormonism. Needless to say, it doesn’t go that well. One missionary has his faith shaken and the other admits that he’s never read the (utterly ridiculous) Book of Mormon and preaches some total crap to the locals, who fall for it and have their faith restored. The whole thing ends with the message that yes; religion is fiction. The Bible is completely made up and sounds utterly insane when taken literally. However, it gives people hope and makes them happy – so leave them to live happily with their ignorance because in the grand scheme of things, it’s not really hurting anyone.

The songs are catchy, the cast are great and there are laughs a-plenty. Comic timing is perfect and although it’s very crass in parts, there’s enough intelligence behind the comedy to make it a hit. It is, essentially, South Park but with less irritating characters (I was never a South Park fan, however I admired the way they challenged everything).

Also, I totally bumped into Colin Firth in the theater. He’s still got it.

LISTEN: It’s odd, if you ask people what they associate me with they’d probably say (I hope?) colour, Beyoncé and lions. Don’t ask. However, I adore Radiohead more than all three of those things put together. They’re my favourite band and their music pretty much defines all key moments in my life. I turn to their music when I’m happy, sad – they suit every occasion simply because I adore them so much.

I’m currently reading a book about Radiohead and philosophy and one essay summarised their place in music for me. The Beatles music was all about taking you elsewhere and Pink Floyd’s music looked at the harsh and often bleak realities of where you are – everyday life. Radiohead combines both of these elements to create the most beautiful music possible. Their lyrics are often talk about commuting, paranoia, the need to escape – and their music is exactly what takes you away from everyday life.

Let Down is my favourite song – well, has been for the last year anyway. I want it played at my funeral and if I were the marrying type I’d want it played at my wedding too. It’s beautiful: enjoy.

Don’t get sentimental, it always ends up drivel
One day, I am going to grow wings,
A chemical reaction
Hysterical and useless

LOVE: It should be about who you are and what you say.
293f4cdbd87253cb593bac829d688622

Leave a Reply

