Yeah! Burger, Frank Sinatra at the London Palladium and then a bit more Frank

7 Aug

EAT:  At long freakin’ last I got myself over to Yeah! Burger. The YB guys have moved around the city a few times and they’re currently hanging out in various pubs in North London.

I’d planned on going to try Yeah! Burger a few times because their menu looks delicious and they’re always so bloody lovely on Twitter too (the number of times I’ve enquired about coming to see them doesn’t bear thinking about).

Yeah_Burger_Menu_Star_of_KingsSo, I went to the Star of Kings and immediately ordered  the Yeah Fries (onions and special sauce) and, of course, the Chicken Burger a.k.a The Nagual (chipotle grilled chicken, cheddar, sour cream, guac and salad). As you can see from the photo below, you get a good sized portion for your money (and even more on Monday when it’s 2 burgers and 2 sides for £10. SRSLY).

yeahbI should probably mention what it tasted like: goooooooood. Brioche bun held its own well, chicken was tender and the chipotle added a nice kick to balance out the sour cream and guacamole.  Fries were nice, but I think next time I’ll go for something different – they’re not Honest Rosemary fries/ Byron Courgette fries/Dead Hippie fries good I’m afraid – but then again, they are just basic fries with sauce and onions, so I was hardly expecting fireworks.

Go to Yeah! Burger. It’s well worth a try and with their amazing Monday offer you literally have no excuse. GO EAT.

SEE: I fucking LOVE Frank Sinatra. Give me any kind of jazz/swing/big band music and I’ll eat it up. I remember buying my grandpa (Bamps) Sinatra CDs for Christmas when I was a kid and having no idea why he liked him. These days I give Sinatra the full credit he deserves.

So, when I heard that the London Palladium were bringing Sinatra’s music to the stage I had to go. I rocked up and found an audience of mainly pensioners and parents who dragged their kids along (kids the same unappreciative age I was when Bamps used to lecture me on how ‘music nowadays isn’t as good as when Frank was around’. Oh, how right he was).

Sinatra-at-the-London-Palladium-2-cNobby-Clark The show is essentially a live 24 piece band playing the music live, with a screen bringing Sinatra to the stage, providing the vocals. To keep the audience entertained, there are huge screens which feature themed graphics and dancers fill the stage a lot of the time. It’s incredibly well put together; the way they’ve taken footage of Sinatra and added it to a new backdrop, the way they move the screens around the stage… I was impressed.

The songs they’ve chosen are there to tell the story of his life. You’re taken from his New Jersey upbringing, through his childhood, marriages, rise to fame, struggle with alcohol and to the day he died. True, if you want to learn about Sinatra’s life there are better ways to do it than this show, but as an overall it’s an absolute must-see if you’re a fan of the music and ol’ Blue Eyes himself. Plus, those dancers can daaaance. Super jealous – especially the one who got the epic rockabilly green glitter dress.

11151029_10153153253411278_2932986303606046072_nTwo hours of him? Swoon. Yes please.

LISTEN: Has to be a Sinatra song really, doesn’t it? This is my favourite. When I was about 18 I worked part time when at Uni in a gift shop. I got to choose what I played in the store and I found an old Sintatra CD. And I remember ‘It Was A Very Good Year’ coming on. It was sadder and more wistful than the other songs. It wasn’t as upbeat as his other classics, but the strings and the sentiment in the lyrics and his voice struck me.

But now the days are short, I’m in the autumn of my years
And I think of my life as vintage wine
From fine old kegs. From the brim to the dregs.
It poured sweet and clear… It was a very good year.

LOVE: My friends are slowly abandoning me because they’re found love / are getting laid. I’m nearing my late twenties, so I’m hardly surprised. Then I saw this on TV the other day and had an ‘omg that’s me’ moment. That’s right. Fml. I’m Raj.

Leave a Reply

