Unlimited Tapas, basketball, trying to make a change and opposites attracting.

5 Feb

So over the last two weeks loads has been going on: I’ve been sick for starters. Kids: the flu SUUUUCKS. No longer will I avoid the flu jab (I hate wasting NHS resources if I don’t need to) but being confined to my flat for 5 days has made me think I should get vaccinated. Usually I keep the vaccinations or when I visit other countries (well exotic) but next year, Imma get a shot for the dangerous ol’ UK.

So, before I got sick (and part of what got me sick) I spent the weekend with my family – my mum is adopted and her biological father (Ken) and his partner (Merry) were in London to come and see us. Unfortunately, my biological grandpa got flu on the first day we met and was hotel-bound for the rest of the trip, which was SUCH a shame. Mum stayed in and spend a bit of time with him but his partner is a lot like me (redhead, colourful clothes, passion for travel) so wanted to explore London. Which I was than happy to help her do!

img_8664

We visited the Churchill War Rooms (not a fan of the man myself, but Americans LOVE him), and I learned a lot about Churchill’s life and learned more about the Second World War. We also went to a pub (well English), did a tour of Soho (showing Merry my usual haunts) and ate at Brasserie Zedel – always a big hit with parents and grandparents – plus did the following!

EAT: I found an all-you-can-eat Tapas place. Yes, you heard me. And not only was it a reasonable price, but the food was also good. MASSIVE WIN. (All photos aren’t taken by me because I totally forgot to take photos. So I’ve hyperlinked through to the owner of the photo – all photos show food that we ordered.)

Canas y Tapas does all-you-can-eat lunch for £14.95 and dinner for £19.95 and it’s a 5 minute walk from Angel tube station. This doesn’t include drinks, but it does include as many dishes of tapas as you want from an extensive menu. Only catch is that you have to order three dishes per person at a time (so if there are two of you, you can order 6 dishes at a time).

1111

We went for SO many dishes: padron peppers, chicken with caramelised onions, sauteed egg and patatas bravas, calamari, grilled vegetables, pork tenderloin and Iberian ham on flatbread topped with raisins, walnuts and drizzled with balsamic vinaigrette (this was a fave), olives, battered veg with aioli and MORE. The menu is here – as you can see, pretty extensive and the portion sizes are really good!

222222

The best bit? THE DESSERT. Omg the desserts were amazing. You can only order two types of desserts as part of the all you can eat and they were both absolutely incredible. Seriously; one day I’m going to go in there and just 7 portions of these desserts for 90 minutes. Dessert one is churros (donuts dusted with sugar and served with chocolate sauce) – the donuts were warm and the chocolate gooey… honestly, they were a total dream. The second dessert was pastry bas filled with cream and served with some cream and chocolate. The pastry was really light, the crème DELICIOUS (so soft and light and taaaasty)… seriously, don’t go and not get dessert, ok?

As for the restaurant itself – it’s fine. It’s not quirky or anything and the staff are fine, but nothing special. I can’t complain about the service at all, the music was fine… you’re really there for all you can eat Tapas. SO EAT IT ALLLL.

SEE:  as I’m writing this, it’s Superbowl Sunday. Now, I don’t really give a crap about the Superbowl (analysing the adverts aside) – and, of course, the tall, hot men running about. Another sport I’m also not hugely fussed about is Basketball… again, the tall, hot men running about are about as interested as I can get.

So why the hell did I go to see the London Lions play the Worcester Wolves a couple of weeks ago? Well, my grandparents are American and we had a museum-heavy weekend, so we thought it best to include some sport in the activities so that my brother and grandpa could enjoy themselves.

However, with my grandpa being ill the whole weekend I was left with 6 tickets to the basketball and a bizarre determination to go. So, me and my grandpa’s partner, Merry, decided to suck it up and see the game.

img_8662

The game took place in the Copperbowl Arena in the Olympic Park. I’ve seen the Bulls play in Chicago and the Nicks play in New York and this was nothing. at. all. like. American. basketball. I must stress, it WAS enjoyable – the guys playing are clearly passionate and the crowd were fired up. But at the end of the day, American sports are designed around adverts and entertainment, and neither of things were present at the London Lions game. Well, aside from some English cheerleaders who couldn’t bring themselves to be as, err, American as the American cheerleaders. Does that make sense? Probably not.

img_8661

HIGHLIGHT: the London Lions have a lion mascot. I got to give him a high-five (because Merry shouted at him to come over and see me, hahaha). The game got off to a slow start but there, genuine, flashes of brilliance from both teams. There were also some really stupid mistakes made… such is sport.

Overall, it’s £10 a ticket and it’s a different way to spend the weekend. I’d say it’s worth going to see for the experience – I actually really enjoyed myself – and I’m a fan of the Hackney Wick area, especially in summer, so even if you get bored during the game, there’s plenty to explore nearby.

LISTEN: Small hands, big lies, must lose.

Donald Trump has been President for less than 3 weeks and has already been a total nightmare. So, the first week of his Presidency, I went on a march in London to protest his scaremongering misogyny and racism. Since going on the Women’s March on Jan 21st, Trump has brought in the ‘Muslim ban’, there have been countless more protests and the Muslim ban has been declared illegal. It’s hard to say if the protests have made a difference, but I think it’s essential to stand up and make your voice heard when there’s injustice of this magnitude taking place.


So why am I putting this in the ‘listen’ section of my blog post? Because I want you to listen to Tupac’s ‘Changes’. Yes yes, I’m sure you’ve heard it. But this song, recorded in 1992, bears terrifying relevance today. Things have not changed.

“Cops give a damn about a negro, Pull the trigger kill a nigga he’s a hero”
– Despite the numerous killings and shootings of innocent black people over the last 12 months, Trump has not announced any plans to address the institutional racism in America’s police force. In fact, he’s easing laws on background checks, making it easier for people to wield guns.

“I see no changes all I see is racist faces, Misplaced hate makes disgrace to races”
– Trump’s constant scaremongering has made an enemy of innocent Muslims, and pits people against each other, rather than encouraging people to work to together. Misplaced hate is SO relevant right now.

“It’s time for us as a people to start makin’ some changes.
Let’s change the way we eat, let’s change the way we live, and let’s change the way we treat each other.”

– so that’s what we’re doing. We’re protesting. We’re trying to get those in power to change, trying to get the people who voted for them to change. Trying to make the world a better place.

LOVE: How many times have you been told that ‘opposites attract’? It’s everywhere – yet, when you actually look at everyone in long-term, solid relationships, they usually have plenty of similarities.

As I’m getting older, and dating more men, I’m realising that opposites can attract, but it doesn’t usually work out. Key word there: usually. I believe that people can absolutely get on if they’re different and that there’s more that unites us (as people) than divides us. But this doesn’t usually translate when it comes to romantic relationships.

giphy

However. My grandpa and his partner, Merry, are SO opposite in all of the areas I consider important and areas where I’d usually assume I couldn’t compromise on. They’re on opposite ends of political spectrum. Merry loves to travel, Ken does not. Like… seriously, Merry spends her life travelling and Ken just doesn’t have much desire to do so at all. Merry likes dressing up and going to nice restaurants, Ken would far rather head to a sports bar and not don a suit unless he has to. Merry adores museums, Ken isn’t a fan. Ken is a massive sports fan and Merry couldn’t be less interested.

Recipe for disaster, right? Well… no. They totally work. I don’t know how to describe it, but they even each other out. She talks and he’ll happily listen. She gives great advice and seems to make decisions about what they should do, and Ken likes letting someone else organise things. It’s those really broad personality traits that means they work well together, despite their passions and interests being opposite.

tumblr_lyqjiuw2kx1qj7acbo1_500

I guess I don’t have a specific conclusion to draw from my rambling. Just that I should perhaps be a little more mindful of the fact that despite differing opinions and opposite interests, I shouldn’t totally write someone off. Because when it comes to opposites attracting, it really works for some people.

Leave a Reply

